Listen to the Sounds of Nature – Listening Earth Nature Sounds Recordings.

Tall Forest - Nature Sound Recording by Listening Earth

Tall Forest – Nature Sound Recording by Listening Earth

This year spring came unexpectedly early to Toronto and many other regions in the Northern Hemisphere. I noticed the first flowers blooming on February 22 – so this was at least one month sooner than we usually see them here.

Personally I have enjoyed the early spring and I don’t mind a bit of climate warming in our area. The birds also came  earlier than usual. So we are now enjoying their songs for a few months already . I am trying to go out and stay close to nature as much as possible.  For some of you, I know, this is not possible as much as you might have wished.

Sulawesi - Heart of the Indonesian Rainforest sound recording

Sulawesi – Heart of the Indonesian Rainforest – Sound Recording by Listening Earth

If you miss the voices of the birds and other sounds of nature, I would like to share with you a link to Listening Earth, a company I have recently discovered.

On their website you will be able to listen to numerous free samples of sounds recording, including voices of many hundreds, or maybe even thousands of birds from around the world. They were recorded over almost 20 years by Andrew Skeoch  and Sarah Koschak – a couple from Australia.  They travel around the world to record these wonderful soundtracks and also take photos of the birds. You can read more about them here:

http://www.listeningearth.com/LE/general.php?pageID=4

Indian Woodland Birdsong – Sound Recording by Listening Earth

The photos of the birds  included that you see in this post were taken by Andrew and Sarah and I am posting them here with their permission.

To date they have recorded over 50 CDs and Mp3s. To see the full catalogue please follow this link at:

http://www.listeningearth.com/LE/browse.php?filter=all

I must say that I really enjoy listening to their recordings. Usually I much prefer listening to sounds of nature without music, so I can almost feel as I am there. With the music the experience seems not as real and I often find that in this case,  even the most beautiful music  could be quite distracting.  So I would like to congratulate Sarah and Andrew for creating an amazing collection and for sharing it with us. I hope they will keep up their great work for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

