Poland · Travel

If You Love Desserts Zakopane in Polish Tatra Mountains Is Certainly Worth Visiting. Here Is One of My Favorite Places to Eat Desserts – Zarneccy Café.

I have already mentioned in some of my previous post Zakopane, one of the biggest cities of Podhale region, located in the southern part of Poland in front of the beautiful Tatra mountains.. Zakopane lays in the valley, right at the foot of Tatra’s and is one of the most popular tourist destinations in this country.

A view on Tatra mountains from Gubalowka mountain in Zakopane, Poland.
A view on Tatra mountains from Gubałówka above Zakopane, Poland. From the top of Gubałówka (1123 m) you can admire beautiful views not only on Tatra’s panorama, but also on other mountain ranges – Gorce, High Beskid and Pieniny.  Gubałówka is very popular with tourist and quite easily reached from Zakopane by a railway car pulled by a cable. The top of Gubałówka is now rather crowded with tourists and many little stands from which a variety of souvenirs is being sold.  You will also find there many bars, restaurants and other tourist attractions.

In a few of my previous post, I have told you  about visiting some of the trails in Tatra mountains, like Koscieliska Valley and Chocholowaks Valley,  but I didn’t tell you yet, how wonderful Zakopane is if you like eating desserts. It is also great for tasting a variety of other dishes, often served at stylish cafes, bars and restaurant, frequently at quite affordable prices.

Today I would like to present to you one of the best places to visit in Zakopane if you like desserts, including a big variety of ice creams –  Żarneccy Cafe & Ice Cream Place.  It is located right on the main street in Zakopane called Krupówki, which is also the most popular with tourists where most of the cafes, restaurants and bars could be found.. Zarneccy Cafe is at Krupówki 48 B, in the upper part of this street. 

Żarnecki” is a family name” from which the name of this place  is coming. The first letter of this name has an accent, which in Polish language is pronounced a bit differently than a letter “Z” but in this article, I will just write this name mostly with the letter “Z” since I am afraid some computers can show strange characters in its place.

Here is one of the delicious desserts I have eaten at Zarneccy Cafe during my recent trip to Poland in the Summer of 2017 – “Szarlotka“(Apple cake) with raspberry mousse and vanilla ice cream. It was really great and this sharlotka was served warm.

One of the cakes in Zarnecki Cafe in Zakopane. This is "Szarlotka" with raspberry mousse and vanilla ice cream.
One of the cakes in Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane. This is “Szarlotka” with raspberry mousse and vanilla ice cream.

Szarlotka (pronounces “sharlotka”) is one of the most popular Polish cakes and it is made and served in a variety of ways. This one was particularity tasty, not too sweet and well balanced with more sour raspberry mousse.

Zarneccy (Żarnecki) family has been in business of making ice creams since 1947. They say on their website that the secret of their success is the fact that they make their products always using only natural and thoughtfully chosen ingredients without synthetic additives.  The first original ice cream place they have opened is located in the nearby city of Nowy Targ, which is the capital of Podhale. They have decided to open a location in Zakopane, where besides ice creams, they also have cakes and a variety of drinks.  Here below is Zarneccy Cafe and Ice Cream place in Zakopane.

Zarneccyi Cafe in Zakopane, Poland, Tatra mountains region.
Zarneccy Cafe and Ice Cream Place in Zakopane, Poland, Tatra mountains region.

You can order your desserts at the bar downstairs and then they will bring it to you, or if it is a small order you can wait and take it with you.  There are waitresses there, so I guess if you want you can probably just wait at the table to be served.  I preferred to order at the bar since I think it was a faster way. There are two levels in the Cafe and I prefer to sit upstairs since from there there is a better view on Krupówki street below.

Here is another thing I have sometimes ordered there – a spiced red wine served hot and called “Grzane Wino (Hot wine). It is a popular drink in this region, especially in colder weather and you can also order it in many other places, but here it was served with an slice of orange, which added to its spicy taste.  This wine went quite well with “Szarlotka” cake I have showed you above.

Red hot spiced wine served at Zarnecky Cafe in Zakopane, Poland.
“Grzane wino” (Hot wine) – red hot spiced wine served at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane, Poland.

They have a beautiful menu with many cakes and a variety of ice creams, many of them with fruits, whipped cream and some with a touch of alcohol. It is hard to decide what to try, but after a few visit to this place I already had some favorite deserts I liked to order again.

Zarnecky Cafe menu, Zakopane, Poland, 2017.
Zarneccy Cafe menu, Zakopane, Poland, 2017. Here on the front cover they say that they are in business of making and selling ice creams for the last 60 years. I think this cover was probably not updated for a while because they are actually in business of making ice creams since 1947, so it is now more than 70 years..

On this page there is one of my favorite desserts they offer – raspberry mousse with whipped cream. There is also a version with ice cream added to it.  This dessert is served in a similar way in my other Polish favorite cafe – Grycan, which you can also find in some other bigger cities in Poland.

Two kinds of fruit mousse with whipped creamed served at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane. There are more to choose from. Both are delicious and not too sweet, particularly if you choose the versions without ice cream added to it.
Two kinds of fruit mousse with whipped creamed served at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane. There are more to choose from. Both are delicious and not too sweet, particularly if you choose the versions without the ice cream added to it. The prices are in Polish zloty.

The prices are in Polish zloty. When I was there in the Summer of 2017, I was getting about 3 zl for one Canadian dollar and about 4 zl for US dollar.  So here the mousse without ice cream is about 3 Canadian dollars. The whipped cream is real, not synthetic and not too sweet.

My favorite dessert - raspberry mousse with whipped cream at Zarneccy Cafe. I think this is a version with ice cream added to it. Sorry about the picture being a bit fuzzy, but I didn't have much light in there since it was a cloudy day. Such kind of mousse is always served at Zarenccy Cafe in tall glasses.
My favorite dessert – raspberry mousse with whipped cream at Zarneccy Cafe. I think this is a version with ice cream added to it. Sorry about the picture being a bit fuzzy, but I didn’t have much light in there since it was a cloudy day.  Such kind of mousse is always served at Zarenccy Cafe in tall glasses.

Here is another look at this delicious dessert. I wish such desserts would be available in Canada as well.

Raspberry mousse served at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane, Poland.
Raspberry mousse served at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane, Poland.

Even if it is usually not advised to indulge oneself in too many desserts, I think this one is actually pretty healthy compering to many other desserts since it contains raspberries and is not too sweet. Also, according to the owners, it has no synthetic additives.

Here is the main bar where you make your order at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane, Poland, Tatra mountains area. There are many cakes, shakes, ice creams and other desserts to choose from. Many more could be chosen from the menu. All prices are in Polish zloty.
Here is the main bar where you make your order at Zarneccy Cafe in Zakopane, Poland, Tatra mountains area. There are many cakes, shakes, ice creams and other desserts to choose from. Many more could be chosen from the menu. All prices are in Polish zloty.

As I have mentioned, there are numerous places in Zakopane to try a variety of desserts and other dishes and perhaps I will write about some of them in my future posts. Please also check out some of my other articles about Zakopane and Tatra mountains (Tatry), Poland. You can find a few links to them under this article.

I will certainly be writing more about this amazing and one of my favorite region of Poland, so stay tuned and subscribe to this blog.  Please also click “like” if you like this article and share it with whoever else might be interested. Thank you.

The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge – “Sweet”.

This post is part of the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge and this is my interpretation of this week’s prompt Sweet.

The Copyright Info and Subscribing to this Blog.

All photographs presented on this blog are copyrighted by me, Renata Ratajczyk. If you would like to use any of them in your publications or on your website please contact me. I will be adding some of the pictures posted here to my Light Vision website, where you can license images or buy them as prints.  I will be posting more articles soon, so please subscribe to my blog to be notified about future updates. Thank you.

My Other Blog – Vibrant Garden.

I also invite you to visit my other blog – Vibrant Garden where I write about gardening, the most beautiful and interesting gardens I have visited, as well as I highlight some special plants and occasionally essential oils. You can visit my Vibrant Garden blog here.

You May Also Like to Read:

  1. One of the Most Beautiful Trail in Tatra Mountains – Hiking Towards Hala Gasienicowa and Orla Perc, Poland.
  2. Visiting Beautifully Located Sacro Monte of Varallo, Italy.
  3. Serene Moment in Time – Koscieliska Valley part 3, Tatra Mountains, Poland.
  4. Koscieliska Valley – Part 1, Tatra Mountains, Poland.
  5. Koscieliska Valley – Part 2 – Hala Pisana, Tatra Mountains, Poland.
  6. Chocholowska Valley, Polish Tatra Mountains, Part 1.
  7. Bird Kingdom – an Aviary in Niagara Falls, Canada.
  8. Visiting Parco Civico Villa Ciani, Lugano, Switzerland – on my Vibrant Garden blog.
  9. Lake Garda, Italy.
  10. Gardens of Versailles, France.
  11. Gadens of Spiazzi village – an article on my Vibrant Garden blog.
  12. Giardino Sigurtà” in Northern Italy – on my Vibrant Garden blog.
  13. Niagara Parks Botanical Garden – part 1 – on my Vibrant Garden blog.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “If You Love Desserts Zakopane in Polish Tatra Mountains Is Certainly Worth Visiting. Here Is One of My Favorite Places to Eat Desserts – Zarneccy Café.

Leave a comment